Planning Commission

General Functions, Powers, and Duties

The Planning Commission (PC) serves as the Local Planning Agency (LPA). The Board of County Commissioners (BCC) designated the PC as the LPA and the PC has all the functions, powers, and duties as set forth in Section 163.3174, Florida Statutes. The PC is the final decision-making body on Special Exception applications.  The PC holds public hearings and transmits to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) recommendations on zoning district amendments, conditional use applications, proposed MPUD Master Planned Unit District zoning amendments, Operating Permit Applications, and certain appeals, including appeals from administrative variances pursuant to Section 407.3 of the Land Development Code (LDC) and alternative standards that have not been approved by the County Administrator or designee pursuant to Section 407.5.D.2. The PC hears and issues final determination on variance requests pursuant to the requirements of the LDC.


The Planning Commission (PC) is composed of 7 voting members, all of whom, except one are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.  The remaining member is appointed by the School Board (district appointee), pursuant to Section 163.3174(1), Florida Statutes. 

List of Planning Commission Members


  • First Thursday of each month at the Historic Pasco County Courthouse, Second Floor Board Room, Dade City
  • Fourth Thursday of each month at the West Pasco Government Center, Board Room, New Port Richey

2022 Public Hearing Calendar for Planning Commission Meeting Dates

Membership Terms

The Planning Commission (PC) members' terms  run concurrently with the term of office of the commissioner who appointed them, with the at-large member serving a four (4) year term.

Staff County Attorney:

Chief Assistant County Attorney David Goldstein can be reached at 727-847-8120, or by email at

Point of Contact:

For more information, contact Denise Hernandez at 727-847-8142, or by email at