Environmental Lands Acquisition Selection


  • Quarterly

Meetings are held more frequently if warranted.


The Environmental Lands Acquisition Selection Committee (ELASC) is composed of 11 volunteer members, appointed by the Board of County Commissioners (BCC):

  • 1 member with expertise in government affairs
  • 1 member with ties or membership in an environmental-based nonprofit organization
  • 4 members with expertise in at least one of the following fields:
    • Business
    • Finance
    • Real estate
  • 5 members with a bachelor's degree in natural or environmental sciences

No more than three members can be non-residents of Pasco County.

Membership Terms

Initial membership is for a term of one, two, or three years.New members are appointed as the terms of Board of County Commissioners expire.This is done at the November meeting when the board appoints its new Chairman.New members elected at the November meeting shall serve for three years.


The ELASC was established by the BCC in 2004 for the purpose of reviewing nominations submitted to Pasco County for the acquisition and protection of environmentally sensitive lands.These nominations are placed in a nomination pool where they are reviewed and evaluated by the ELASC.Recommendations approved by the ELASC are eventually presented to the Board of County Commissioners for final approval or denial.